“GEEZ LOUISE” (Post #38)

broken-heart-wallpaper (6)
“GEEZ LOUISE!” (Post #38) Lessons Learned by a Dating Widower

According to Ask.com , no one knows the origination of the term “Geez Louise”, but it has been used for many years. It’s a term that expresses amazement.
Well . . . GEEZ LOUISE! I’m amazed that ‘it’ finally happened! I have fallen in love with ‘Louise’, and have proposed to her, the woman of my dreams! And surprise of surprises, she said “YES”!

‘Louise’ is my age (we are both 63). ‘Louise’ is also a widow (as I am a widower). And we share several common fundamental passions that have cemented our relationship including a passion for our faith and music.

It wasn’t to have happened this way. In fact, it wasn’t to have happened at all. It was a simple request to have coffee with her. She was so reluctant; it took a miracle for her just to say “Yes” to coffee. It was an innocent request; with innocent expectations. It was to be an innocent date; with innocent conversation.

Just like others that I’ve dated, I expected that she’d be cute – and that I’d be respectful; that she’d be interesting – and that I’d be conversational; that she’d exhibit refinement – and that I’d exhibit chivalry. I expected that if all went well, I’d probably ask her for a 2nd, and perhaps a 3rd date; but most likely, that would be the extent of our interest.

But I misjudged ‘Louise’. Wow, did I ever!!

She wasn’t cute . . . she was gorgeous!
She wasn’t interesting . . . she was fascinating!
She wasn’t refined . . . she was classy!

And me? I don’t remember much about my behavior, except that I was enthralled by her presence. I was taken by her persona. I was captivated by her voice, her smile, her laughter, her love of life. I was enthralled by her ability to articulate her thoughts and feelings through intelligent dialogue. Nothing ‘rattled’ her. She handled my impulsiveness with grace and calming dignity.

OK, OK, OK. . . You’re right. I’ve got to admit . . . .I was really attracted to her stunning beauty. But you’ve got to believe me; all the other descriptions in the paragraph above were true.

Remember ‘the list’ I described back in post #3? That list of ‘gotta-haves’ that my future wife HAD to ABSOLUTELY, POSITIVELY have? Well . . . I had several ‘must-haves’ on that list that ‘Louise’ DOES NOT have. BUT I learned that list of ‘gotta-haves’ of mine was misguided. That list was driven by worldly values, not godly values. Foolish me . . . !

HOWEVER . . . ‘Louise’ has several ‘amazing-haves’ that I never even thought to include on that list. What’s truly amazing, ‘Louise’ has so many outstanding attributes, I’m convinced God knew my needs better than I did!

Hmmm, after all – He IS God, isn’t He??!!

What’s really stunning is that ‘Louise’ has read this blog – the same one you’re reading now . . . all 38 posts . . . and she STILL LOVES me! Go figure! She knows everything about me; every quirk, every flaw, every weakness – and she loves me anyway! Who says miracles don’t happen?

So if you don’t mind, on this Valentine’s Day of 2014, please allow me to personally address ‘Louise’ . . .

Louise, I don’t deserve you. But you complete me. You are strong when I am weak. You are coherent when I am irrational. We balance each other! You have brought laughter, joy, and love back into my vocabulary. Simply put, I need you, ‘Louise’. ALWAYS!

Although I will always love my ‘Ruby’, and you will always love your ‘James’, I am convinced that our Lord has brought us together, and has kindled the amazing new and powerful love that we have for each other. You are everything I need, and more than I ever hoped for. I love you, ‘Louise’. ALWAYS!

“Doubt thou the stars are fire,
Doubt thou the sun doth move,
Doubt truth to be a liar,
But never doubt I love.”
William Shakespeare

8 thoughts on ““GEEZ LOUISE” (Post #38)

  1. Congratulations, I am so very happy for you. It gives me some hope for the future. I lost my wife of 43 years, recently, she was the love of my life. Thank you for these posts!

  2. That is great that you met your special person. What dating website for a widower do you recommend?

    • Each dating website has their pros & cons. I can’t recommend any particular site – but since my values have Biblical origins – I would only use one that values similar beliefs (and there are several out there). I would recommend, however, that you read post #35 where I share mistakes made when using dating sites. I share them with the hope that men like you don’t make the same ones.

  3. I lost my wife of 30 years a few weeks ago to cancer. Thank you so much for posting all of these stories. I am a Christian man, and I fear dating…it’s a long story but I married the only girl I ever dated. So, I’m 50 years old and have never really dated before! Thank you for sharing all of this wisdom!! Congratulations on finally finding that special girl! I wish you much happiness!

Your thoughts?

