Motive for Mediocre Marriage (Post #19)

broken-heart-wallpaper (6)

“Motive for a Mediocre Marriage”   (Post #19) Lessons Learned by a Dating Widower

For those of you who have a mediocre or rotten marriage – you are SO fortunate.

As for myself, I had a GREAT marriage to ‘Ruby’.  Sure, we had our speed bumps; every couple does.  But ‘Ruby’ was the type of woman who was so easy to love.  She was the kind of woman who I loved to love.  Even after an incredible session of intimate eros love, I still loved to be with her; spending time with her; staying close to her.  Can YOU say that about YOUR marriage??? 

Loving ‘Ruby’ was so much fun.  Heck-fire, LIVING with ‘Ruby’ was so much fun.  I truly felt the love of God in our marriage.  I was so blessed.  She was filled with the love of God; I actually felt loved by God through that woman.  Even after 38 years of marriage, I still loved her presence.  It was magical.  Our love was magical.

So, why are husbands in mediocre or rotten marriages SO fortunate?  Let me explain.

Since I’ve been a dating widower, I’ve had some weak moments when I actually told a woman that I loved her.  That’s right.  I said those words . . . to two women I dated.  One ended in a marriage that was prematurely annulled by my wife ‘Jill’ (Remember ‘Jill’?  She was mentioned in Post #10).  The other woman was ‘Fanny’ (also mentioned in Post #10), a woman who I honestly convinced myself that I loved. About a month later I came to my senses and realized that this relationship would NEVER work.

But now looking back at BOTH of these experiences, now many months removed, I can see WHAT (not WHO) I truly loved.

I believe I was in love with ‘love’! 

The love I had for ‘Ruby’ was so real, so lasting, so consuming, so wonderful, so deep, so Godly . . . I missed that SO much when she died . . . I wanted it again SO much, that I announced it prematurely; so soon – so early – when one or two elements of ‘Ruby’-like love were manifested in a budding relationship.  I learned, all too late, that I wasn’t in love with the woman, I was in love with ‘love’.  As a good friend once told me, I was so enamored with ‘love’, that I “overlooked the red flags”.

I suppose if I would NOT have had that wonderful marriage to ‘Ruby’, if I merely would have had a mediocre marriage, it would have been a LOT easier grieving; a LOT easier coping; and a LOT easier replicating a mediocre or rotten marriage.

I was reminded that loving and being loved by ‘Ruby’ was truly a God gift, an undeserved blessing from God.  I learned that a Godly marriage required God’s timing, His discernment, His providence, His wisdom; not my faulty timing or logic.  And that marriage deserves my gratitude for our Heavenly Father . . .  for his amazing grace that allowed me to experience true Godly love  . . . at least one time in my life. 

Disclaimer:  I certainly am not recommending mediocre or rotten marriages with the writing of this post.  I would only hope that you would strive to have the same kind of marriage that ‘Ruby’ and I had.  It is my hope and prayer that any marriage I may have in the future would also be a Godly marriage.

94 thoughts on “Motive for Mediocre Marriage (Post #19)

  1. Hi, I do think this is a great website. I stumbledupon
    it 😉 I’m going to revisit once again since i have saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people.

    • Your words are motivating yet humbling. I’ve read your blog on ‘Save the Marriage’. It looks fantastic. I think I need to read it. I think it’d be a terrific resource. But I’d need two copies – one for my ex and one for me! But then the trick would be for her to agree to read it too. Any suggestions?

  2. I’ve been browsing on-line more than three hours as of late, but I never discovered any fascinating article like yours. It’s lovely worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content as you did, the web can be a lot more useful than ever before. “Dreams have as much influence as actions.” by Stephane Mallarme.

  3. Generally I do not read post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, very great post.

  4. Spot on with this write-up, I truly suppose this qkortyi web site needs rather more consideration. I’ll in all probability be once more to learn far more, thanks for that info.

    • Thank you Phu Kheiyn! I appreciate your kind words. Feel free to follow this blog by clicking on the ‘Follow’ button on the right side of this blog, and you will receive an email each time I add a new post to the blog. Thanks again Phu Kheiyn.

  5. Thanks for almost every other fantastic article. The place else might anyone get that kind of info such an ideal approach of writing? I have an exhibit next week, and I will be on the search for such information.

    • I guess you are right, pranie. I am focusing more on mistakes that I’ve made – and not the positive in my dating experiences. I need to do a better job with that. Thanks so much for your observation!

  6. It’s actually a nice and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you just shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

    • Thanks, Danny, for your encouraging words. You can stay up to date with this blog by clicking on the ‘Follow’ button on the right side of the post. You will then receive an email every time a new post is added to the blog. Thanks again!

  7. I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today..

    • Thanks for your interest, Audyty. On the right side of the post there is a ‘Follow’ button. Just click that and you will be notified via email when a new post is added to my blog.

  8. What i don’t understood is actually how you are no longer really much more neatly-liked than you may be right now. You’re so intelligent. You already know therefore significantly in terms of this matter, made me in my view consider it from a lot of various angles. Its like men and women are not interested until it’s something to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your own stuffs great. Always take care of it up!

    • Well, Sieci, I guess I’ve had too many hangups in the last two years that I’ve been dating. I AM appreciated and liked by my dates. But I guess I’ve just been too nervous to become serious and commit to any of them. I’ve messed up so many times, I don’t have the confidence I need right now to make a good decision while dating. Thanks for your confidence in me. I appreciate your kind words and support.

  9. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such great info being shared freely out there.

    • I’d be selfishly interested in learning from your research, Sydney. My thoughts and opinions are primarily subjective, not necessarily based on any longitudinal studies or research. So, feel free to share your learning. Thanks for your support.

  10. This is genuinely serious, You’re an incredibly efficient writer. I’ve joined with your feed and also will enjoy finding your extraordinary write-ups. In addition, I’ve shared your weblog post with our social networking sites.

  11. I’ve learn several good things here. Certainly price bookmarking regarding revisiting. I wonder simply how much attempt you put to produce one of these brilliant wonderful informative site.

    • “How much attempt”? Well, lots of attempts! I write, rewrite, proof, rewrite, reproof, then post it as a draft. Then I sleep on it. Come back the next day and reread, & rewrite. Thanks for asking & thanks for your compliments.

  12. Hello! I’ve been following your blog for a long time now lastly got the actual bravery to do not delay – give you a shout out from Lubbock Colorado! Just desired to say carry on the great job!

  13. I do consider all the concepts you have presented to your post. They’re really convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are very short for starters. May you please extend them a little from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

    • You’re right. They’re a little short. But I know that many people have a short attention span – so I write to stimulate their thoughts – to get them thinking. I also try to use word pictures to help them remember what I’ve shared. I’d rather have people like YOU asking for me to write more – than someone who thinks I’m too wordy. Blessings to you!

    • Like I explained (top right corner of the page), I never really wanted to write a blog. But I learned that writing about my mistakes was actually quite therapeutic. It’s painful for me to admit to the world what I’ve done wrong. But – I’m the ‘expert’ on my own mistakes.
      So – whatever you write about – make it a subject of something that you are experienced or know about. Then – just write from the heart. Don’t try to impress anyone. Write like you’d be talking to a friend. Best wishes on your future blog, Flatseven!

  14. I’m still learning from you, while I’m attempting to reach my goals. I certainly liked reading anything that is written on your blog. Keep the tips on its way. I liked it!

    • Thanks, “click here”. I’m still learning myself. I learn from the mistakes of others, and I learn from listening to others. And, unfortunately, I’m learning from my own mistakes. But thanks for your encouragement!

    • Well, I’m the person who ‘performs the job’. I have no one else writing for me. It’d be nice to have someone else to proof my writing – as many times I overlook my mistkes.

  15. Usually I do not examine article in blogs, however I would like to say until this write-up really pressured me to do that! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank an individual, very great article.

  16. exceptional website post. I am going to bookmark and look for much more regularly. I really like the setting template

  17. An extraordinary share, I recently given this onto a colleague who was performing a bit evaluation with this. And that he in reality bought me breakfast only simply because I identified it for him.. smile. So properly then, i’ll reword that: Thnx to the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending sufficient time to speak about this, I’m strongly concerning it and adore reading relating to this subject. If at all achievable, as you develop experience, can you thoughts updating your site with an enhance of information? It actually is particularly a very good selection for me. Massive thumb up in this text!

  18. I’m nonetheless studying from you, but Now i’m improving me personally. I surely love reading anything that is written inside your blog. Hold the actual stories arriving. I loved it!

  19. One with the more amazing blogs Ive noticed. Thanks so much for keeping the world wide web classy for a change. Youve received style, class, bravado. I suggest it. Please keep writing because with no internet is certainly lacking within intelligence.

  20. Fine website, in which did you come up with the info in this piece? I¡¯m pleased I uncovered it though, ill be checking back quickly to find out what other content articles you could have.

    • Thanks, lagerwiki. The info used was through experiences that I had, and through reading that I’ve done. I am no expert, except on the mistakes that I’ve made! Blessings to you!

  21. You undoubtedly deserve a new round regarding applause for your post plus much more specifically, your blog generally. Very top quality material!

  22. This is quite interesting, You can be a very competent blogger. I’ve joined your feed and expect seeking more of the excellent post. Also, I possess shared your internet site in my myspace!

    • I’m glad that you share my passion for this topic, planreduc. I’ve tried to remain anonymous because I didn’t want the girls (whom I’ve dated) to have access to this information. I think if people found out my real name and address, girls that I WANT to date will say no. If you want to contact me, it’ll have to be just through these comments. Sorry.

  23. We was recommended this excellent website by my cousin. I’m unsure whether this specific post is authored by him because nobody otherwise know these kinds of details regarding my difficulty. You are amazing! Thanks!

Your thoughts?

