Quirks (Post #2)

 

broken-heart-wallpaper (6)

“Quirks” Post #2   Lessons Learned by a Dating Widower

 

My wife had only died 8 months ago.  Guess I should have known that I was dating too soon.  Will never forget that first date.  Drove 1 1/2 hours to meet Alice on a mutually agreed day, at a mutually agreed restaurant, at a mutually agreed time.  

 

You know, through the last 2 years of dating, I’ve learned that the Lord sends subtle messages to get your attention.  Unfortunately, I’m too stubborn to admit or accept His direction.  He did that evening . . . as she didn’t show for 15 min . . . for 30 min . . . for 45 min . . . for 1 hour . . .   Oh, yeah, Alice called to say she was running late.  but 90 minutes late????  Guess I learned why she was never married.  You’d think that I would have gotten ‘hit over the head’ by this less-than-subtle message that – perhaps I should delay my dating.  But, NO, not me.  Not “let-me-do-it-my-way” me!  

 

Did I mention that I met her on eHarmony? (One of many venues that allows type A people to “do-it-their-way”)  She was the intellectual type (hey, opposites attract, what can I say?).  I remember “checking with” my eldest son as we were doing some yard work together on the day of this 1st date – asking what he thought about me having dinner with another lady.  He was quite surprised, but politely respectful of my decision.  He should have tied me to the bushes we were trimming to keep me from wasting my time.  

Only dated Alice 1 time.  Her 90 minute delayed arrival was her demise.  Another lesson that I learned . . . I’ve got to get past the quirks of the women I’m dating.  OK, OK, so I’ve not learned that yet.  Still working on wearing ‘blinders’.   Did my wife of 38 years have any quirks . . .????  Hundreds, I guess.  But I LOVED HER!   And loving/dating/marrying her when I was 21, I was much more patient and willing to overlook those quirks.  But now that I’m 60+ years old, I have every right to raise the bar . . . to demand NO QUIRKS.  Well, at least NO DIFFERENT ONES that my wife had!  RIGHT!!??  

 

Wrong.

Embarrassed again!

 

Now that you’ve finished reading this post, I’m sure you have some thoughts on this topic, and I’d love to know what they are.  Feel free to post your comments, whether you disagree or agree with what I’ve learned.  I’d be indebted to learn from your thoughts and experiences too! 

10 thoughts on “Quirks (Post #2)

  1. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.

    I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read more things about it!

    • Kirsten, if you’d like, you could click on the ‘Follow’ button on the right side of this blog. You’d then receive an email every time I add a new post to this blog. Or are you asking that I write more information on the topic of ‘Quirks’?
      Thanks for your suggestion.

    • Thank you, ‘how to make a girl…’, for asking your question. I’m not familiar with the Mexican culture or traditions, especially when encouraging men/women to “bop” with others when already in a relationship. I don’t choose to follow culture traditions in my own country. I try to follow behavior as described and encouraged in the Bible. That would be behavior of faithfulness to whom I love. Therefore, I would NOT “bop” with other women when already committed in a relationship. Did that answer your question?

  2. I simply couldn’t go away your site before suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the standard info a person supply to your visitors? Is going to be back incessantly in order to investigate cross-check new posts

    • I’d encourage you, theinnovationcenter, to come back frequently. I don’t know how many mistakes I’ll keep making – but I hope that they eventually will come to an end! :>

Your thoughts?

